Administrative-Territorial Organization

Bosnia and Herzegovina is a compound state, which in line with the General Framework Agreement for Peace in BiH, consists of  the  Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (51% of territory) and the Republika Srpska (49% of territory). Brcko, which was a subject of disputes and international arbitrage, was proclaimed a district. Thus, Bosnia and Herzegovina has two entities and Brcko District.

The Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Republika Srpska are entities having their own constitutions, which have to be in conformity with the Constitution of Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina
Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, as the entity, consists of ten cantons  (which, in administrative terms are further split into communes) as follows: – Una-Sana Canton, Posavina Canton, Tuzla Canton, Zenica-Doboj Canton, Bosnia –Podrinje Canton, Central Bosnia Canton, Herzegovina-Neretva Canton, West Herzegovina Canton, Sarajevo Canton.

The Parliament of the Federation of BiH has legislative powers and is comprised of the House of Representatives and the House of Peoples. Executive powers are performed by the President of the Federation and two Vice Presidents, as well as the Government of the Federation of BiH. Sarajevo is the capital city.

Republika  Srpska 
Republika Srpska is the entity, which is administratively split into regions (Banja Luka, Doboj, Bijeljina, Pale and Trebinje). Regions are further split into communes.

National Assembly of the Republika Srpska and the Council of Peoples in the Republika Srpska exercise legislative powers in the RS. Executive powers are excercised by the President and two Vice Presidents of the Republika Srpska, as well as by the Government of the Republika Srpska. Sarajevo is the capital city.

Brcko District
The territory of Brcko was under arbitrage and was attached neither to the Federation of BiH nor to the Republika Srpska. By decision of the International Arbitrary Commission, close to the end of 2000, Brcko was put under administration of Bosnia and Herzegovina, as the separate district.

Brcko District has its own multi-ethnical government, Assembly, Executive Board, jurisdiction and police forces.